## Infrastructure Council Minutes September 2, 2011 1-3 PM Smathers Library (East), Conference Room 2B

Present:	Shannon Holliday
Mark Tillman	Scott Nygren
Andy McCollough	Sue Alvers
Gail Hansen de Chapman	Elias Eldayrie
Sofia Acord	Jay Watkins
Tom Caswell	Diane Bruxvoort
Neta Pulvermacher (via Skype)	Gene Herring
Bill Millard	Elizabeth Ross

The meeting was called to order at 1:03 p.m. by co-chair Mark Tillman.

Introductions were made and April minutes were approved.

## Scott Nygren, Faculty Senate Chair

Scott thanked the members of the council for their service and noted the major initiatives for the upcoming year. With the severe cuts from the legislature, the council was asked to monitor deferred maintenance and try to find efficiencies to help make the university work. Scott noted that policy councils are not decision makers, but advise on policy.

## **College of Fine Arts Accreditation/Library Relocation Discussion**

A lengthy discussion ensued about a proposed move of the Art & Art History Department and the School of Music libraries. After hearing some background information, the council noted that things are still in the preliminary stages. There has not been a decision that the move is actually going to happen, how it will happen or that it's been formally discussed. The Council decided that it was too early in the process for review.

## Topics for the council to focus on for the coming year (as suggested by meeting attendees)

- Technology Fees
- Libraries Update
- Reports from Contributing Committee Chairs
- Continue Implementation of RCM
- Effort Reporting
- Follow online tenure and promotion
- Online faculty training and testing

Meeting adjourned at 2:19 p.m.